7 replies [Last post]
Calman45
Calman45's picture
Offline
Regular
Okanagan Valley, BC
Last seen: 8 years 8 weeks ago
Okanagan Valley, BC
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2013-01-04
Posts: 31
Points: 38

Hi folks,

I have been quietly chipping away at things over the last few days, but hit a niggling problem with this development link below:

http://www.okanaganforum.com/cst-smith-just-the-ticket/cst-smith-columnDIVS.html

Basically, I've managed to tweek the code to look almost indentical in IE and FF ... but for some reason, it jumps down approx 10-15px from top to bottom in Chrome?

I tried reading areas of CSSC regarding margins/body structure and padding etc, but not yet finding anything to help with Chrome, which appears to be reading something a little different?

All the best,
Cal

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 46 weeks 5 days ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9776
Points: 3858

Cannot replicate

I cannot see a difference. Could you be more specific? Screen capture? Circles and Arrows?

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

Calman45
Calman45's picture
Offline
Regular
Okanagan Valley, BC
Last seen: 8 years 8 weeks ago
Okanagan Valley, BC
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2013-01-04
Posts: 31
Points: 38

Certainly.... This is how it

Certainly....

This is how it appears on my end Gary (this example running in Chrome - as IE, FF & Opera appear to display everything equally in place).

chromecap.jpg

All the best,
Cal

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 46 weeks 5 days ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9776
Points: 3858

See attached scrunched up

See attached scrunched up screen shot. Chrome on the left, FF to the right.

g

AttachmentSize
cst-smith-reduced.gif 233.35 KB

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

Calman45
Calman45's picture
Offline
Regular
Okanagan Valley, BC
Last seen: 8 years 8 weeks ago
Okanagan Valley, BC
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2013-01-04
Posts: 31
Points: 38

Interesting Gary!! I will

Interesting Gary!!

I will have my wife install chrome on her system and laptop and compare, as it could now well prove to be an issue with Chrome on my PC, hmm??

Thanks for your time as always,
Cal

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 46 weeks 5 days ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9776
Points: 3858

Cache?

Don't forget that browsers can tenaciously hang on to cache. Do a [ctl]-[shift]-r or [ctl]-[f5] to force a fresh load.

cheers,

g

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

Calman45
Calman45's picture
Offline
Regular
Okanagan Valley, BC
Last seen: 8 years 8 weeks ago
Okanagan Valley, BC
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2013-01-04
Posts: 31
Points: 38

Oh don't I know it

Oh don't I know it friend!!

For many years now, I have converted people from doing a simple "refresh" / "reload" to Ctrl F5's ... and never looked back. As we all know, sometimes, cache dealings can get very sticky, especially when it's someone on the other side of the world, who doesn't see what you see! lol

Will keep you posted on how this development page appears on a fresh install of Chrome on another PC on this end.

All the best,
Cal

Calman45
Calman45's picture
Offline
Regular
Okanagan Valley, BC
Last seen: 8 years 8 weeks ago
Okanagan Valley, BC
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2013-01-04
Posts: 31
Points: 38

Update: Installed a fresh

Update:

Installed a fresh copy of Chrome on my wife's laptop and everything looks perfect (slightly lower in upper page content positioning, but we are talking 2-4 pixels here, so nothing to sweat over).

Glad I made this discovery, before hacking the code to work on "my" install of Chrome!! lolol

All the best,
Cal