9 replies [Last post]
SanPedros
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 8 years 11 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT+2
Joined: 2012-05-20
Posts: 4
Points: 6

Compare:

http://www.pulse-design.co.uk

with

http://www.pulse-design.co.uk/category/breakout/

It's the menu on the left on the home page that's causing the problem. I'm using a Wordpress template theme builder called Catalyst that allows you to design your own templates. On the home page, the left hand 'UberMenu' menu builder php code has been added to a widget area. On the other pages the menu builder code has been added into a hook box to the sidebar.

On the home page the menu is displaying inconsistently across most browsers. The other pages show how I want the menu to look, but Safari adds an extra green rule to the top of the menu, and other browsers display no rule, others a single rule.

There's also a glitch causing the 'latest news' box to shift slightly between one browser to another.

I can't, for the life of me, find the problem. Any help gratefully received.

Tony
Tony's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 1 week 4 days ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2003-03-12
Posts: 5343
Points: 2964

First thing to do with these

First thing to do with these types of issues is to Validate.
The home page has errors.

SanPedros
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 8 years 11 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT+2
Joined: 2012-05-20
Posts: 4
Points: 6

Thanks. I'm still a noob to

Thanks. I'm still a noob to this. How do I go about fixing something like:

'Line 323, Column 183: End tag div seen, but there were open elements.'

Is this something missing from the stylesheet? Or in the php code?

Tony
Tony's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 1 week 4 days ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2003-03-12
Posts: 5343
Points: 2964

No that is pointing to a

No that is pointing to a problem in the markup. The line below that points it out
… href="http://www.pulse-design.co.uk/category/new-products/">NEW PRODUCTS</div>
Which shows that the link is missing an end tag. It should be:
… href="http://www.pulse-design.co.uk/category/new-products/">NEW PRODUCTS</a></div>

SanPedros
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 8 years 11 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT+2
Joined: 2012-05-20
Posts: 4
Points: 6

Thanks.... traced it back to

Thanks.... traced it back to a missing tag in a widget area. seems to have gotten rid of most of the home page errors now.

This is the last bit that needs fixing for the site to be validated

Line 261, Column 39: Element style is missing required attribute scoped.

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.pulse-design.co.uk%2F&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&ss=1&group=0&No200=1&verbose=1&user-agent=W3C_Validator%2F1.3#line-261

Tony
Tony's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 1 week 4 days ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2003-03-12
Posts: 5343
Points: 2964

In HTML 5 there is a new

In HTML 5 there is a new attribute scoped which you set to tell the browser how to use style elements in the body of the document. Scoped makes the browser apply the styles from the parent element.
If possible put your style element in the HEAD section of the document.

bigeba8
bigeba8's picture
Offline
Regular
gaithersburg MD
Last seen: 7 years 49 weeks ago
gaithersburg MD
Timezone: GMT+2
Joined: 2012-06-10
Posts: 23
Points: 27

Site Check

I have been trying to figure this out for about 7 hours straight now.
I'm working on a project that is supposed to be simple.
The home page and the About page are duplicated aside from the content. I know for a fact it's something with the CSS.

I noticed last evening that the footer doesn't take the right top margin with ever page. I'm not sure why. It could be something different thats making it happen. Either way. The margin between the content and the footer is offset between pages. I've measured as well to make sure.

Home page measured 40px and about page measured 80px from right side to footer.

Ideas on how to tweak this and even make my code better? I'm a beginner as you will see.

atarsales.com

I validated everything in hopes it would show me the problem but everything was green and good.

Thanks in advance

Tony
Tony's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 1 week 4 days ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2003-03-12
Posts: 5343
Points: 2964

Hi bigeba8, You should have

Hi bigeba8,
You should have started a new topic for this.

The footer comes after both the content and the right side, whatever is longest.
Since some of your pages have longer content then others the footer will look different.
The margin and padding around the web hosting ad also makes a lot of the difference.

bigeba8
bigeba8's picture
Offline
Regular
gaithersburg MD
Last seen: 7 years 49 weeks ago
gaithersburg MD
Timezone: GMT+2
Joined: 2012-06-10
Posts: 23
Points: 27

Site check

Thanks for the quick response!!!

If I give footer-top margin shouldn't always have the same spacing? I'm not sure how to go about this. I don't want it being different spacing just because the content has another line or two. between the boxes the spaces should always be the same shouldn't they?

Tony
Tony's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 1 week 4 days ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2003-03-12
Posts: 5343
Points: 2964

The footer itself has no

The footer itself has no margin, you have the margin on the paragraph inside the footer.
In most instances the thing that pushed the footer lower is the #content-2