12 replies [Last post]
KostaKondra
KostaKondra's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Sydney
Last seen: 10 years 10 weeks ago
Sydney
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2009-11-19
Posts: 68
Points: 87

#scrollBox.hover {
border-bottom: #000 solid;
border-width: 30px;
}

So it's obvious what I want to do (of course scrollBox has been defined earlier in the text). Basically make the border become thick when a mouse goes over a div. For some reason CSS does not allow this?

Any ideas?

Thanks guys.

Also can you give me an alternative to doing what I want to do.

Ed Seedhouse
Ed Seedhouse's picture
Offline
Guru
Victoria British Columbia
Last seen: 48 weeks 6 days ago
Victoria British Columbia
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2005-12-14
Posts: 3570
Points: 675

My idea is that you should

My idea is that you should read our posting guidelines and then after that comply with them.

Ed Seedhouse

Posting Guidelines

Watch out! I am carrying irony, sarcasm and satire, and know how to use them.

KostaKondra
KostaKondra's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Sydney
Last seen: 10 years 10 weeks ago
Sydney
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2009-11-19
Posts: 68
Points: 87

?

I read them. What is it exactly that I'm doing wrong? Is this something to do with the question being too simple?

KostaKondra
KostaKondra's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Sydney
Last seen: 10 years 10 weeks ago
Sydney
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2009-11-19
Posts: 68
Points: 87

.

Ok I will assume everyone has abandoned me like a leech. I take this opportunity to apologize for being curious and assuming someone will just lend a helping hand.

Does anyone have Skype?

My skype is: kosta_kondratenko69.

My maturity is paramount.

Regards

Stomme poes
Stomme poes's picture
Offline
Elder
Netherlands
Last seen: 9 years 4 weeks ago
Netherlands
Timezone: GMT+2
Joined: 2008-02-04
Posts: 1854
Points: 378

This'll get you back on your feet

http://www.w3.org/TR/CSS21/selector.html#dynamic-pseudo-classes

You'll see what happened right away : )

I'm no expert, but I fake one on teh Internets

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 5 years 46 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

You're not abandoned but you

You're not abandoned Smile but you must understand what is needed to be able to offer worthwhile help.

You post no markup; CSS without it's symbiotic partner is next to meaningless. We need to see the context the rules apply to.

Does the element really have a ID and a class thus your selector notation of #scrollBox.hover?

Describe the border property thusly:
border-bottom: #000 solid 3px; or what ever thickness you want.

edit/ Ah Poes thinks you actually want to apply a pseudo class, likely that is the issue.

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

KostaKondra
KostaKondra's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Sydney
Last seen: 10 years 10 weeks ago
Sydney
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2009-11-19
Posts: 68
Points: 87

Stomme poes THANKS

It works! Great. Thanks so much. Look I know sometimes you hear things coming from me and you think "Wow what a stupid question". Sometimes I may not be paying attention, but just letting you know that one short line you put up saved me about 45 minutes of work.

Do you have Skype?

KostaKondra
KostaKondra's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Sydney
Last seen: 10 years 10 weeks ago
Sydney
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2009-11-19
Posts: 68
Points: 87

Last Post

Actually I have to take that back, I do have to agree I should have done at least some rudimentary research.

My apologies, this is what happens when I have 'Post Thread' on speed dial.

Stomme poes
Stomme poes's picture
Offline
Elder
Netherlands
Last seen: 9 years 4 weeks ago
Netherlands
Timezone: GMT+2
Joined: 2008-02-04
Posts: 1854
Points: 378

Hugo wrote: edit/ Ah Poes

Hugo wrote:

edit/ Ah Poes thinks you actually want to apply a pseudo class, likely that is the issue.

Actually, I thought it was also possible that the OP was using (or looking at) one of those .hover classes you see when people are getting IE6 to hover using Javascript, so posting the :pseudo-classes specs would have answered the question either way, in the easiest and most informative way.

Kosta, Hugo makes a good point. What if you HAD been using Javascript with a .hover class (plain old class) and you were looking in IE6 (you didn't say which browser), then without further code we wouldn't know if the problem was that you had named your box #Scrollbox in the HTML by accident (which would also cause it not to work, of course... CSS is case-sensitive).

I'm no expert, but I fake one on teh Internets

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 5 years 46 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Kosta generally it's frowned

Kosta generally it's frowned upon attempting to solicit private help on a public forum.

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

KostaKondra
KostaKondra's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Sydney
Last seen: 10 years 10 weeks ago
Sydney
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2009-11-19
Posts: 68
Points: 87

Cheers

Hey guys. Will post full code next time. Thought maybe you wouldn't want to read the whole thing but I guess it's better that you have it for troubleshooting then not (Jesus that sounds so common sense).

Regards

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 5 years 46 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Or if you have hosting then

Or if you have hosting then an example page to view is ideal.

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

KostaKondra
KostaKondra's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Sydney
Last seen: 10 years 10 weeks ago
Sydney
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2009-11-19
Posts: 68
Points: 87

Hosting

Of course I have hosting, I will upload all my examples from now on so you guys can play around with it.

Cheers
Thanks for all the help so far.