4 replies [Last post]
SamShah33
SamShah33's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 7 years 13 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2014-05-02
Posts: 2
Points: 3

Hi All -

Beginner here. I've done some research and can't find the solution. Hoping you all can help me.

take a look at noozpop.com (without the www). There a block and the word "Uncategorized" that i can't figure out how to remove.

Help!!

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 21 weeks 4 days ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9776
Points: 3858

Did you not search your source?

					<nav id="navigation">
													<ul class="menu sf-js-enabled">
									<li class="cat-item cat-item-1"><a href="http://noozpop.com/?cat=1" title="View all posts filed under Uncategorized">Uncategorized</a>
</li>
							</ul>
 
					</nav>

It is also a best practice to format your source for ease of reading with the Mark I eyeball. Viz.
<nav id="navigation">
  <ul class="menu sf-js-enabled">
    <li class="cat-item cat-item-1"><a href="http://noozpop.com/?cat=1"
          title="View all posts filed under Uncategorized">Uncategorized</a>
    </li>
  </ul>
</nav>

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

SamShah33
SamShah33's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 7 years 13 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2014-05-02
Posts: 2
Points: 3

I found the source through

I found the source through Chromes Element Inspector but I can't find the HTML in wordpress. All i see is CSS and PHP

Thanks for the heads up on the nasty script layout lol

helldog2004
helldog2004's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Netherlands
Last seen: 4 years 51 weeks ago
Netherlands
Timezone: GMT+2
Joined: 2014-03-02
Posts: 205
Points: 239

It seems this uncategorized

It seems this uncategorized link has been placed inside your menu.
Could you check your menu inside your dashboard by going to appearance and then click on menus.
Over there you can see several menus being active in your WordPress website.

Other option:
If the "uncategorized" link is not inside one of your menus then it is most likely to be a widget inside your header.
Click on appearance and then on widgets and check if there are some widgets active inside your header.

Also, if these both are not working for you, are you using a standard theme, or did you download it from another author? Thank.

Henk

Check Maximum Webdesign for your online solutions

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 21 weeks 4 days ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9776
Points: 3858

A good time to be retired. Bwa-ha-ha-

It is my not at all humble opinion that WP screwed up when they stopped using a proper templating engine --- in their case, Smarty. As it is, the DB interface, the programming logic and the page structure are all intermixed; a generally accepted poor practice. I'm guessing they decided to apply the Henry Ford solution1, anything you want as long as they fit the designated boxes. Using a templating engine would allow any document structure, but would require the widget/theme/plugin 'designer' to actually have a clue. :shrug:

cheers,

gary

1. Ford is reputed to have said you could buy his car in any color you wished as long as it was black.

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.