6 replies [Last post]
mzimmers
mzimmers's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
CA, USA
Last seen: 9 years 38 weeks ago
CA, USA
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2007-11-12
Posts: 124
Points: 67

Hi, all -

I've built my site through WordPress, and while the functionality and ease of use is great, I think the WP implementation is causing performance problems. My hosting provider swears it's not them, and I'm inclined to believe them. So, the question is...where do I go from here?

Can someone recommend a more efficient system for managing a web site? As mentioned above, I'm looking for something that will give the highest possible performance. I think I'm missing a lot of viewers due to slow page loading.

Thanks for any suggestions.

mz

Michael Zimmers
Staff Writer
www.scopedin.com

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 14 weeks 1 day ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2043
Points: 2268

Wordpress is pretty tight on

Wordpress is pretty tight on the PHP end. What sort of issues are you noticing?

What plugins are you running? I use Wp-Super-Cache which may help you out. I also block a list of IP numbers from china and russia. It's far from comprehensive.

mzimmers
mzimmers's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
CA, USA
Last seen: 9 years 38 weeks ago
CA, USA
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2007-11-12
Posts: 124
Points: 67

Verschwindende

Verschwindende wrote:

Wordpress is pretty tight on the PHP end. What sort of issues are you noticing?

Just slugging loading pages. Slow in the admin areas, too.

Quote:

What plugins are you running? I use Wp-Super-Cache which may help you out. I also block a list of IP numbers from china and russia. It's far from comprehensive.

I tried Super Cache; there was something about it that didn't work well. My plug-ins:

  • Akismet
  • Exec-PHP
  • Google XML Sitemaps
  • Multi-level Navigation Plugin
  • My Page Order
  • Page Tree
  • Register Plus
  • Wordpress Popular Posts
  • WP-Footnotes
  • WP CleanFix

The Multi-level Navigation adds a lot of stuff to a page, I know, but I don't think it's what is causing the problem. When trying to load a page, it often just sits there for several seconds before doing anything.

I don't know, maybe Bluehost is the problem, but they seem pretty squared away to me.

Michael Zimmers
Staff Writer
www.scopedin.com

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 14 weeks 1 day ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2043
Points: 2268

It is a bit slow but not

It is a bit slow but not unusable. What is the purpose of the multi level nav plugin? Can't wordpress already do that?

Do you have a host that can handle ASP.NET? If so, I can let you take a look at my CMS. That'll at least tell you if it is a PHP/WP issue or not.

mzimmers
mzimmers's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
CA, USA
Last seen: 9 years 38 weeks ago
CA, USA
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2007-11-12
Posts: 124
Points: 67

Verschwindende wrote: It is a

Verschwindende wrote:

It is a bit slow but not unusable. What is the purpose of the multi level nav plugin? Can't wordpress already do that?

The newest version supports a theme that has that built in. It didn't exist when I customized my theme. My site is very Page-centric, so I'm not sure that I can even use the new theme.

Quote:

Do you have a host that can handle ASP.NET? If so, I can let you take a look at my CMS. That'll at least tell you if it is a PHP/WP issue or not.

Nope. Bluehost doesn't support ASP.

Michael Zimmers
Staff Writer
www.scopedin.com

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 14 weeks 1 day ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2043
Points: 2268

Well, there are other options

Well, there are other options out there but none really hold a candle to Wordpress. Could you try to disable the plugins one at a time to see if one of them is the issue?

mzimmers
mzimmers's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
CA, USA
Last seen: 9 years 38 weeks ago
CA, USA
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2007-11-12
Posts: 124
Points: 67

Verschwindende wrote: Well,

Verschwindende wrote:

Well, there are other options out there but none really hold a candle to Wordpress. Could you try to disable the plugins one at a time to see if one of them is the issue?

I can, but I'll have to build a duplicate (test) site for that. I don't want to mess with my production site. My readers aren't exactly computer whiz-bangs, and I don't want to screw any of them up.

Michael Zimmers
Staff Writer
www.scopedin.com