4 replies [Last post]
charmarie1962
charmarie1962's picture
Offline
Regular
Texas / USA
Last seen: 5 years 17 weeks ago
Texas / USA
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2014-03-18
Posts: 16
Points: 22

Okay...hoping I can explain this without sounding too stupid! Smile

I've got my css layout and my main page set up. Please view here, if you'd like - http://disneyheaven.com/new/disney_heaven.htm

As I'm trying to rewrite all of my pages using css, I'm trying not to use frames. For my top nav and my footer, I was using frames. The reason for this was so if I needed to change my info, I didn't have to go to each individual page to do so. How do I do this now without using frames, please?

Thanks so much for any help you can give!

charmarie1962

helldog2004
helldog2004's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Netherlands
Last seen: 4 years 51 weeks ago
Netherlands
Timezone: GMT+2
Joined: 2014-03-02
Posts: 205
Points: 239

One possible solution is by

One possible solution is by using php hooks like WordPress is using.
You create a header.php, footer.php and pages with the content.
Now in your index file you need hooks like:
<?php get_header(); ?>
<?php get_content(); ?>
<?php get_footer(); ?>

This way you only need to create it once, the only thing you need to remember is that every page is calling for the header and maybe the footer.

Cheers,
Henk

Check Maximum Webdesign for your online solutions

charmarie1962
charmarie1962's picture
Offline
Regular
Texas / USA
Last seen: 5 years 17 weeks ago
Texas / USA
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2014-03-18
Posts: 16
Points: 22

Thanks!

Yeah, it seems like I'd have to use either php or ssi, but unfortunately, I don't know either one of these. And, as usual, my "old self" is having trouble understanding either. Plus, it looks like I'd have to use the extensions .php or .shtml, and I'd like to keep my .htm files.

Thanks so much for always trying to help me helldog!

helldog2004
helldog2004's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Netherlands
Last seen: 4 years 51 weeks ago
Netherlands
Timezone: GMT+2
Joined: 2014-03-02
Posts: 205
Points: 239

Not a problem at all

Not a problem at all Charmarie Smile

Check Maximum Webdesign for your online solutions

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 21 weeks 3 days ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9776
Points: 3858

SSI

Response header:

Content-Length: 3555
Content-Type: text/html
Last-Modified: Sun, 27 Apr 2014 03:09:38 GMT
Accept-Ranges: bytes
Etag: "7ff22920c661cf1:d41a8"
Server: Microsoft-IIS/6.0
MicrosoftOfficeWebServer: 5.0_Pub
X-Powered-By: ASP.NET
Date: Sun, 27 Apr 2014 16:25:01 GMT
 
200 OK

See http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms525185%28v=vs.90%29.aspx for SSI specs for IIS 6.0.

IIS does not support .htaccess files (Though the vast majority of web servers do). As of IIS 7.0 (but you have IIS 6.Innocent you can do the same function with the web.config file. The two have different syntaxes and require translation. For example, let a web.config file rename the requested html file to php.

Were you on the Apache web server or any of many other servers, on a Unix type OS, you could use the SSI x-bit hack to cause the server to treat any file with the x-bit set as SSI's .shtml.

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.