12 replies [Last post]
flexybash
flexybash's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 11 years 43 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2010-12-06
Posts: 5
Points: 6

Okey guys as the tittle says,some images of my site,suck as the menu Background and the images for each button are not showing on firefox, i will post the html and css (Its not so large because i just started so hopefully someone will find a solution for this frustrating problem :Drunk

PROBLEM.jpg

HTML

<head >
 
<link rel="stylesheet" href="style.css" type="text/css"/>
 
 
</head>
<body>
 
 
 
<div id="body_t">
 
<div id="navigator"></div><!--end navigator-->
 
</div><!--end body_t-->
 
 
<div id="body_b">
<div id="leftnav">
<div id="leftnav_t"></div>
<div id="leftnav_l"></div>
<div id="menuleft">
<ul>
<li id="inicio"></li>
<li id="registrarse"></li>
<li id="como_c"></li>
<li id="arma_p"></li>
<li id="reglas"></li>
<li id="foro"></li>
<li id="reportar_b"></li>
</ul>
 
</div><!--end menuleft-->
<div id="leftnav_r"></div>
<div id="leftnav_b"></div>
 
 
 
</div><!--end leftnav-->
<div id="container"></div>
 
 
</div><!--end body_b-->
 
 
 
 
 
</body>

CSS

body{margin: 0;overflow-x: hidden;overflow-y: scroll}
 
 
 
 
 
 
#body_t{ width: 1816px ; height: 354px; background: url(images/skycastle_bg_t.jpg) no-repeat;margin: 0;padding: 0}
#body_b{width: 1815px ; height: 776px;  background: url(images/skycastle_bg_b.jpg) no-repeat;margin: 0;padding: 0}
#navigator{width: 1115px ;height: 162px;background: url(images/navigation_bg_service.png) no-repeat;margin: 0;padding: 0}
#leftnav{float: left; width: 266px;height: 776px;margin: 0px 150px 0px 120px; padding: 0; background: url(images/content_bg.jpg) no-repeat center top}
#leftnav_t{height: 17px; width:266px;float: left;background: url(images/menu_tapa.png) no-repeat}
#leftnav_l{height: 736px; width:17px;float: left;background: url(images/menu_sides.png) repeat-y center}
#leftnav_r{height: 736px; width:20px;float: right;background: url(images/menu_sides.png) repeat-y center}
#leftnav_b{height: 17px; width:266px;clear: left;background: url(images/menu_tapa.png) no-repeat}
#menuleft{height: 736px;width: 229px;margin: 0;padding: 0;float: left}
#menuleft ul{margin: 0;padding: 0;list-style-type: none}
#menuleft li{height: 40px;width: 170px;margin: 10px 0px 0px 25px;padding: 0}
#menuleft a{margin:0;padding:10px 10px 10px 10px}
#inicio{background: url(images/menuleft_inicio.png) no-repeat}
#inicio:hover{background: url(images/menuleft_inicio_h.png) no-repeat}
#registrarse{background: url(images/menuleft_registrarse.png) no-repeat}
#registrarse:hover{background: url(images/menuleft_registrarse_h.png) no-repeat}
#como_c{background: url(images/menuleft_c.png) no-repeat}
#como_c:hover{background: url(images/menuleft_c_h.png) no-repeat}
#container{ float: left; width: 600px;height: 776px}

Deuce
Deuce's picture
Offline
Guru
Somewhere, USA
Last seen: 5 years 12 weeks ago
Somewhere, USA
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2005-11-20
Posts: 4424
Points: 1843

If it's an image issue, we

If it's an image issue, we need to see a live link.

all ยป http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/all

Google isn't a bunch of guys reading and grading web sites, it's more like a bunch of monkeys sniffing food and putting the good bananas at the top. -Triumph

flexybash
flexybash's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 11 years 43 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2010-12-06
Posts: 5
Points: 6

okey

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 3 weeks 4 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2053
Points: 2285

http://www.flexybash.com/wow_

http://www.flexybash.com/wow_site/images/leftnav_bg.jpg doesn't work in Safari or Opera.

Ah, I see. It is an 8BPS file. You can't just rename an image as a .jpg to make it a .jpg. I'd start by resaving it from the PSD file.

flexybash
flexybash's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 11 years 43 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2010-12-06
Posts: 5
Points: 6

ty

i ahvent done that.. But i dont know i guess ill just re-save it and re-upload it to see if it fixes anything, thanks for the help

flexybash
flexybash's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 11 years 43 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2010-12-06
Posts: 5
Points: 6

hey

Well versch you proved to me that the background image of the leftnav was invalid,you were rigth so just deleted it and made it again then i uploaded it and yeah!! it worked now u can see it in firefox! xd

same with the menu buttons i just re saved and re uploaded and it works.. but on my mac something wierd came up, ill let you know tomorrow if this is a solved thread,cuz its 4:34 am and my mac its turned off so im off to sleep ,thanks for the help Smile

will post tomorrow morning,

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 1 year 31 weeks ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9776
Points: 3858

Image identification

@Verschwindende: Out of curiosity, which utility do you use to identify the image?

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 7 years 39 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Likely Photoshop

Likely Photoshop Wink

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 3 weeks 4 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2053
Points: 2285

gary.turner

gary.turner wrote:

@Verschwindende: Out of curiosity, which utility do you use to identify the image?

You may be surprised but I just changed the extension to .txt and opened it in Notepad.

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 1 year 31 weeks ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9776
Points: 3858

Nice

OK, nice move. I got there after the OP had made his change, but took a butcher's anyway. (Like that, H?) I used identify from the ImageMagick suite. Using the cli

C:\Users\gt>identify -verbose [url of image]
Image: C:/Users/gt/AppData/Local/Temp/magick-vkiSNh3s
  Base filename: menuleft_inicio.png
  Format: PNG (Portable Network Graphics)
  Class: DirectClass
  Geometry: 170x40+0+0
  Resolution: 28.35x28.35
  Print size: 5.99647x1.41093
  Units: PixelsPerCentimeter
  Type: Bilevel
  Base type: Bilevel
  Endianess: Undefined
  Colorspace: RGB
  Depth: 8-bit
  Channel depth:
    gray: 1-bit
    alpha: 8-bit
  Channel statistics:
    Gray:
      min: 255 (1)
      max: 255 (1)
      mean: 255 (1)
      standard deviation: 0 (0)
      kurtosis: 0
      skewness: 0
    Alpha:
      min: 0 (0)
      max: 255 (1)
      mean: 5.92603 (0.0232393)
      standard deviation: 33.6869 (0.132106)
      kurtosis: 37.0255
      skewness: -6.07094
  Alpha: rgba(255,255,255,<img src="https://csscreator.com/sites/all/modules/smileys/packs/Roving/innocent.png" title="Innocent" alt="Innocent" class="smiley-content" />   #FFFFFF00
  Histogram:
      6549: (255,255,255,  <img src="https://csscreator.com/sites/all/modules/smileys/packs/Roving/innocent.png" title="Innocent" alt="Innocent" class="smiley-content" /> #FFFFFF00 rgba(255,255,255,0)
        55: (255,255,255,255) #FFFFFF white
        40: (255,255,255,128) #FFFFFF80 rgba(255,255,255,0.501961)
        27: (255,255,255,192) #FFFFFFC0 rgba(255,255,255,0.752941)
        16: (255,255,255,240) #FFFFFFF0 rgba(255,255,255,0.941176)
        15: (255,255,255,160) #FFFFFFA0 rgba(255,255,255,0.627451)
        15: (255,255,255, 16) #FFFFFF10 rgba(255,255,255,0.0627451)
        13: (255,255,255,208) #FFFFFFD0 rgba(255,255,255,0.815686)
        11: (255,255,255, 32) #FFFFFF20 rgba(255,255,255,0.12549)
        11: (255,255,255, 96) #FFFFFF60 rgba(255,255,255,0.376471)
        10: (255,255,255, 64) #FFFFFF40 rgba(255,255,255,0.25098)
         9: (255,255,255,112) #FFFFFF70 rgba(255,255,255,0.439216)
         8: (255,255,255,176) #FFFFFFB0 rgba(255,255,255,0.690196)
         7: (255,255,255, 80) #FFFFFF50 rgba(255,255,255,0.313725)
         6: (255,255,255, 48) #FFFFFF30 rgba(255,255,255,0.188235)
         4: (255,255,255,224) #FFFFFFE0 rgba(255,255,255,0.878431)
         4: (255,255,255,144) #FFFFFF90 rgba(255,255,255,0.564706)
  Rendering intent: Undefined
  Chromaticity:
    red primary: (0.63999,0.33001)
    green primary: (0.3,0.6)
    blue primary: (0.15,0.05999)
    white point: (0.31269,0.32899)
  Interlace: None
  Background color: white
  Border color: rgba(223,223,223,1)
  Matte color: grey74
  Transparent color: none
  Compose: Over
  Page geometry: 170x40+0+0
  Dispose: Undefined
  Iterations: 0
  Compression: Zip
  Orientation: Undefined
  Properties:
    date:create: 2010-12-06T22:21:41-06:00
    date:modify: 2010-12-06T22:21:41-06:00
    signature: adbcb946fdf6e1ec6d8fce6dba246f60a777c09a83e6f03c5ae47cdd7b8f21bb
  Profiles:
    Profile-icc: 3144 bytes
      Description: sRGB IEC61966-2.1
      Manufacturer: IEC <a href="http://www.iec.ch" rel="nofollow">http://www.iec.ch</a>
      Model: IEC 61966-2.1 Default RGB colour space - sRGB
      Copyright: Copyright (c) 1998 Hewlett-Packard Company
  Artifacts:
    verbose: true
  Tainted: False
  Filesize: 3.34KB
  Number pixels: 6.8K
  Pixels per second: 108K
  User time: 0.000u
  Elapsed time: 0:01.062
  Version: ImageMagick 6.6.4-4 2010-09-17 Q16 <a href="http://www.imagemagick.org" rel="nofollow">http://www.imagemagick.org</a>

Without the -verbose argument, I would have gotten the format, geometry, file size, and another couple of odds and ends. I like IM, and apparently I'm the only one here that does, but your way is certainly elegant.

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

flexybash
flexybash's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 11 years 43 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2010-12-06
Posts: 5
Points: 6

Solved

Allright guys i uust deleted everything adn re uploaded and it lookes like the problem is solved, but now im having just a little problem... xd on hovers.. it works.. but before the hover image appears the button images go invisible... its like....nORMAL picture.... u go with the mouse over... it goes invisible.. and then it comes the hover picture... it only happends once verytime i open the page cuz after that it dosnt happen anymore, its wierd.

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 3 weeks 4 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2053
Points: 2285

Check out Tyssen's site:

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 7 years 39 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Quote: just changed the

Quote:

just changed the extension to .txt and opened it in Notepad.

smart Smile

Quote:

but took a butcher's anyway. (Like that, H?)

Big smile oh yes we'll make a honorary cockeny out of you yet, funny though, just thought how much we actually do use these slang expressions all the time, you might be forgiven for thinking they were just made up by *beep* Van Dyke.

Liking that ImageMagick cli and that was -verbose output Shock

Edit/ I pity the fool that tries to signup as user : D ick

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me