5 replies [Last post]
Korea Insincere
Offline
newbie
London
Last seen: 11 years 29 weeks ago
London
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2010-03-29
Posts: 3
Points: 4

Hi all,

I can't seem to find hacks for these two issues so here goes. My company's site is at http://www.sayersb.co.uk and I've validated the CSS okay. The HTML validation needs some work but I've found the validator isn't particularly intuitive to say the least so you'll have to bear with me on that!

My issues are that firstly in IE6 and IE7 my main horizontal navigation menu does not show the dropdowns. It's a basic Java menu created in Adobe Fireworks and imported into DreamWeaver. It works great in IE8, Firefox, Safari and Chrome. I can't quite see what the problem is but I am relatively new to web design so I have no doubt I've made an error somewhere - just need someone to tell me where I've been silly!

Also, in IE6 the left hand navigation menu extends way too far across the page and covers some of the main content. Do I need to change the absolute positioning I have for this menu? The CSS file can be found here: http://www.sayersb.co.uk/css/layout.css

Hoping you guys can point me in the right direction. This is a great site and my first port of call so many thanks in advance. Apologies if I haven't quite followed protocol!

CupidsToejam
CupidsToejam's picture
Offline
Guru
Florida
Last seen: 6 years 6 weeks ago
Florida
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2008-08-15
Posts: 2637
Points: 1556

Dude, get the validation

Dude, get the validation errors worked out. You can only use an ID one time, not multiple.

Korea Insincere
Offline
newbie
London
Last seen: 11 years 29 weeks ago
London
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2010-03-29
Posts: 3
Points: 4

Dude, thanks a lot for that -

Dude, thanks a lot for that - serves me right really! After a lot of work and much head scratching I have validated both the CSS and HTML. Yay!

Are you able to help with the issues I mentioned in the original post? Let me know if you need any more info guys.

Your input is much appreciated.

CupidsToejam
CupidsToejam's picture
Offline
Guru
Florida
Last seen: 6 years 6 weeks ago
Florida
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2008-08-15
Posts: 2637
Points: 1556

ok, dont take this the hard

ok, dont take this the hard way, using tables to format a layout is not proper. Also using Java Script to control these simple drop-downs, is messy. But worst of all, having Fireworks (and or) Dreamweaver write code for you.

Great work on getting the page to validate!! Im sure you've learned something from that. But seems there is some more yet to learn. please visit the following sites to learn how things are done these days. You'll also want to research css ways to build a dropdown menu. Some fancy the Suckerfish technique.

http://www.htmldog.com
http://www.w3schools.com/default.asp
http://css.maxdesign.com.au/listutorial
http://css.maxdesign.com.au/listamatic

Korea Insincere
Offline
newbie
London
Last seen: 11 years 29 weeks ago
London
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2010-03-29
Posts: 3
Points: 4

Not taken the wrong way at

Not taken the wrong way at all! Just thankful for your input. When you mentioned tables I shuddered - I try to avoid them like the plague but when you use the nice WYSIWYG facilities of DW and FW it's easy to get suckered in (being lazy actually) and you're right, they create a lot of unnecessary code and (horror of horrors) tables as well. Doubtless the Java is at the root of this issue.

I will trash the main navbar and recreate with pure CSS. I'm still curious as to why the left hand navigation menu (which wasn't created by the Adobe software and is CSS based) extends across the main content in IE6 but no doubt I'll come across an answer.

Cheers.

CupidsToejam
CupidsToejam's picture
Offline
Guru
Florida
Last seen: 6 years 6 weeks ago
Florida
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2008-08-15
Posts: 2637
Points: 1556

I dont have IE6 to test the

I dont have IE6 to test the issue with, so im no help to you there. Did you know Microsoft has announced that they no longer support IE6. IE6 had died in contemporary web design. Unless you have a specific need for IE6, dont even bother with it.