20 replies [Last post]
Lambinastormtro...
Lambinastormtroopersuit's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Canada
Last seen: 6 years 35 weeks ago
Canada
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 279
Points: 86

I need some advice.

I have a website (in which I advertise web design & development) which we'll call DPP. I host with a company called Startlogic. I got a few small clients over time, designed and developed their websites, and published them as subdirectories of DPP at Startlogic. This worked well for me because the clients have been happy to pay me their hosting fees (which are nice and low) in exchange for handling everything in relation to the site being up and running... if any problems arise, they'd rather I sit on the phone with customer service at Startlogic and they don't have to try to talk about things they don't understand and/or don't want to think about.

Recently, one client asked about having a counter on his site to monitor his web traffic. Startlogic does offer webstats for free, so I looked into that first. Unfortunately, the info isn't divided up with subdirectories in mind... I just get stats for DPP which includes all of the subdirectories. So that doesn't really give me usable info for my own site or anyone else's.

What would be the best way for me to get information about each separate site? Do I have to give up on the subdirectory method and have each site hosted separately ~ in which case, I'd have to mark up the client's hosting fees in order to make a small profit instead of keeping the entire hosting fee? Or is there some other way to do it? How do you handle this sort of thing?

Tags:
Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 1 week 4 days ago
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2050
Points: 2282

Are you using domain pointers

Are you using domain pointers to host multiple sites on one account? If they give you something like AWstats then you can view each site's traffic.

If that's not helpful I'd just install google analytics and send an automatic monthly report to the client.

Tyssen
Tyssen's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 7 years 14 weeks ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2004-05-01
Posts: 8201
Points: 1386

Google Analytics would

Google Analytics would probably be the easiest way, but you shouldn't really be hosting separate sites as subdirectories of your own web hosting account. Each site should have its own account but you can still do that if you sign up for a reseller account with a web host which means you get given a certain amount of hard disk space and bandwidth on a server and can assign different accounts to it. Doesn't look like StartLogic offer reseller accounts though. How do you handle email accounts with your current set-up?

How to get help
Post a link. If you can't post a link, jsFiddle it.
My blog | My older articles | CSS Reference

Lambinastormtro...
Lambinastormtroopersuit's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Canada
Last seen: 6 years 35 weeks ago
Canada
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 279
Points: 86

Yeah, I was pointing it from

Yeah, I was pointing it from the main directory to a sub directory. But I found out on the phone that the stats only show everything overall in a nutshell... not each separate site's stats, or each sub directory's stats.

If you can believe this, all of my clients so far actually already had e-mail set up for themselves (not like [email protected], but [email protected]) and amazingly none of them have wanted to change it. But now that you mention it, that would obviously be a big problem when someone inevitably wants their e-mail to coincide with their site. Geez, I can't believe I haven't sorted this out before! I guess when I was setting up the first one, the guy at Startlogic on the phone with me suggested I go this route... so I did, and didn't think much more about it because it seemed to work fine and netted me some easy profit. But if you guys don't think it's the right way to go, then should I set up a separate account for each one like Tyssen suggested? And if so, does this mean I'll have to jack up the price for the clients in order to make some kind of profit? How do you guys handle that?

Deuce
Deuce's picture
Offline
Guru
Somewhere, USA
Last seen: 4 years 27 weeks ago
Somewhere, USA
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2005-11-20
Posts: 4424
Points: 1843

I use Mosso/RackSpace Cloud

I use Mosso/RackSpace Cloud for my client host.
$100 a month and I can host seperate domains and subdomains each with PHP or ASP, unlimited free MySQL and like $5 a month for MSSQL or something like that, emails, control of A and MX records, etc etc etc.

Well worth the money!

all » http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/all

Google isn't a bunch of guys reading and grading web sites, it's more like a bunch of monkeys sniffing food and putting the good bananas at the top. -Triumph

Tyssen
Tyssen's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 7 years 14 weeks ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2004-05-01
Posts: 8201
Points: 1386

I have a similar set-up to

I have a similar set-up to Deuce with an Australian company that is only $49.95 AUD/month (can be less if you have fewer sites to host) but without the ability to host ASP sites which is no issue for me as the only times I have to deal with Windows hosts, the clients already have their hosting sorted anyway.

If you have a look around you'll find something in your price range. For example MediaTemple do the same sort of thing for $20/month. I probably wouldn't recommend them (even though they're used by a lot of people in the web design community), because there was a recent issue with a lot of their sites getting hacked because they were storing account passwords as plain text.

How to get help
Post a link. If you can't post a link, jsFiddle it.
My blog | My older articles | CSS Reference

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 1 week 4 days ago
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2050
Points: 2282

Deuce wrote: I use

Deuce wrote:

I use Mosso/RackSpace Cloud for my client host.
$100 a month and I can host seperate domains and subdomains each with PHP or ASP, unlimited free MySQL and like $5 a month for MSSQL or something like that, emails, control of A and MX records, etc etc etc.

Well worth the money!

I've had a client that used Mosso and I've heard a lot (a whole lot) about them. I'm wondering what they offer at $100/month that a $10/month host doesn't. I understand that you usually get what you pay for but it's a large disparity and I'd just like to know if I'm missing something.

Deuce
Deuce's picture
Offline
Guru
Somewhere, USA
Last seen: 4 years 27 weeks ago
Somewhere, USA
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2005-11-20
Posts: 4424
Points: 1843

Verschwindende wrote: Deuce

Verschwindende wrote:
Deuce wrote:

I use Mosso/RackSpace Cloud for my client host.
$100 a month and I can host seperate domains and subdomains each with PHP or ASP, unlimited free MySQL and like $5 a month for MSSQL or something like that, emails, control of A and MX records, etc etc etc.

Well worth the money!

I've had a client that used Mosso and I've heard a lot (a whole lot) about them. I'm wondering what they offer at $100/month that a $10/month host doesn't. I understand that you usually get what you pay for but it's a large disparity and I'd just like to know if I'm missing something.

http://www.rackspacecloud.com/cloud_hosting_products/servers/compare
Click on the "Cloud Servers vs. Cloud Sites" tab.

all » http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/all

Google isn't a bunch of guys reading and grading web sites, it's more like a bunch of monkeys sniffing food and putting the good bananas at the top. -Triumph

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 7 years 1 week ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

VPS, virtual Dedicated (VDS),

VPS, virtual Dedicated (VDS), Cloud, are all essentially the next step up from re-seller accounts in that they are generally a server that you have pretty much full control over.

I have a personal cloud VDS, It's good value as it's a no frills Linux OS with just SSH root access and has to be configured from ground up, it does mean though I have unfettered ability to set it up how I care and I can host how ever many sites I wish, only real limitation is the HD storage.

MT may have had issues with their grid service but taking their VDS (this isn't a recommendation!)as an example with these servers you get full control over your own server instance, you can configure the OS the way you want via SSH, add applications without any restrictions, also though you have a Plesk control panel licence and that means you can run the server using that method of control and also you can create accounts for your users/sites so that your clients can manage their own site e.g check site stats using Awstats and perform various other actions determined by you through your master Plesk account. Effectively you are a re-seller but of your own server resources. If you can run to it these sorts of servers are the way forward and becoming increasingly common and will pay for themselves with time.

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Lambinastormtro...
Lambinastormtroopersuit's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Canada
Last seen: 6 years 35 weeks ago
Canada
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 279
Points: 86

I have very few clients so

I have very few clients so far, and really haven't gotten as in-depth as some of the stuff you guys are talking about above, which to be honest, is quite above my head. For this reason, I don't need much... I need to keep it very simple at this point. I don't have enough clients to make $100 a month worthwhile. For now, might I just get each client their own account at the $10 a month host that I use, mark it up slightly, and handle it for them? Would this make sense?

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 1 week 4 days ago
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2050
Points: 2282

Lambinastormtroopersuit, I'm

Lambinastormtroopersuit, I'm confused by what you are doing. Which are you doing: You have a host with your site, let's call it http://www.yoursite.com, and your clients sites are subdomains or pointers on that. So, your client called aLawyer has their site url as http://aLawyer.yoursite.com? Or are you using domain pointers so that http://www.aLawyer.com points to http://www.yoursite.com/aLawyer on your host?

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 7 years 1 week ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Lambinastormtroopersuit

Lambinastormtroopersuit wrote:

I have very few clients so far, and really haven't gotten as in-depth as some of the stuff you guys are talking about above, which to be honest, is quite above my head. For this reason, I don't need much... I need to keep it very simple at this point. I don't have enough clients to make $100 a month worthwhile. For now, might I just get each client their own account at the $10 a month host that I use, mark it up slightly, and handle it for them? Would this make sense?

Not really, go with one of the hosts that Wordpress list as suitable for running WP it's not a guarantee that they are great but obviously they probably are a cut above some.

As an example JustHost offer a pretty good package, take their basic reseller account, @ £20.00 pcm what's that in $US 16/17 dollars a month? you can host unlimited domains, 75GB space, 600GB bandwidth both more than enough for quite a few sites you get a WHM control panel that allows you to manage all your clients sites and with which you can give them a cpanel control panel of their own; your choice, say to client you'll manage everything or provide them with their own access and charge two slightly different rates, but you will still be their point of contact and can preserve that customer relationship you have developed.

How many clients are you hosting? four? charge them £5.00pcm and your costs are covered any more and your into profit, but you could justifiably charge more depending on the level of care you give your clients.

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Deuce
Deuce's picture
Offline
Guru
Somewhere, USA
Last seen: 4 years 27 weeks ago
Somewhere, USA
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2005-11-20
Posts: 4424
Points: 1843

I don't have much experience

I don't have much experience with them, but I have a friend who hosts a few of his own personal domains at http://www.limedomains.com/ and he seems to like them.
If you transfer your domain to them, you can have free hosting with unlimited domains.
Then, everything you charge is profit. If you need more space/bandwidth then you can pay $5 or $10 a month for more space/bandwidth...

all » http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/all

Google isn't a bunch of guys reading and grading web sites, it's more like a bunch of monkeys sniffing food and putting the good bananas at the top. -Triumph

Lambinastormtro...
Lambinastormtroopersuit's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Canada
Last seen: 6 years 35 weeks ago
Canada
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 279
Points: 86

Verschwindende, I have my own

Verschwindende, I have my own site and my client's sites are subdomains, which, using domain pointers (and their own domain names) appear to be completely separate from my site. For example, my site we'll say is "mysite.com" and then a client's site is "clientsite.com". The files for clientsite.com sit in a folder under my site, as a subdomain, and domain pointers make it appear as though it's sitting completely separate from my own site when in fact it's piggybacking on mine. I hope that makes sense.

Lambinastormtro...
Lambinastormtroopersuit's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Canada
Last seen: 6 years 35 weeks ago
Canada
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 279
Points: 86

Deuce, wouldn't I end up with

Deuce, wouldn't I end up with the same problem that I began with? My current host let's me put different domains up, but since they're all under my one account, I can't get web stats for each different site. I'll have a look at limedomains to see, though. Thanks for the help and recommendation.

Lambinastormtro...
Lambinastormtroopersuit's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Canada
Last seen: 6 years 35 weeks ago
Canada
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 279
Points: 86

Hugo, thanks ~ a lot of what

Hugo, thanks ~ a lot of what you're saying makes sense. Just one thing... I didn't understand a few acronyms you used... what do pcm and WHM mean?

Yeah right now I have four clients with a fifth to start work with me hopefully sometime soon.

Thank you SO much everyone for your advice... I feel like a total dork, having such a mess with this ~ but I figure I'm less of a dork for owning up to my lack of knowledge and asking for help from people who know!

Deuce
Deuce's picture
Offline
Guru
Somewhere, USA
Last seen: 4 years 27 weeks ago
Somewhere, USA
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2005-11-20
Posts: 4424
Points: 1843

Your best bet with all things

Your best bet with all things considered would be to get a Google Analytics account (which is free) and just putting it in the bottom of your code and track the pages you want track with each page. You can have multiple domains in each GA account.

all » http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/all

Google isn't a bunch of guys reading and grading web sites, it's more like a bunch of monkeys sniffing food and putting the good bananas at the top. -Triumph

Tyssen
Tyssen's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 7 years 14 weeks ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2004-05-01
Posts: 8201
Points: 1386

Lambinastormtroopersuit

Lambinastormtroopersuit wrote:

Hugo, thanks ~ a lot of what you're saying makes sense. Just one thing... I didn't understand a few acronyms you used... what do pcm and WHM mean?

Per calendar month and web host manager (a web-based package that lets you manage accounts, ie sites).

How to get help
Post a link. If you can't post a link, jsFiddle it.
My blog | My older articles | CSS Reference

Lambinastormtro...
Lambinastormtroopersuit's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Canada
Last seen: 6 years 35 weeks ago
Canada
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 279
Points: 86

Tyssen wrote: Google

Tyssen wrote:

Google Analytics would probably be the easiest way, but you shouldn't really be hosting separate sites as subdirectories of your own web hosting account. Each site should have its own account but you can still do that if you sign up for a reseller account...

So would you guys agree that before I get any more clients online, I should change my host to something like "justhost.com" like Hugo suggested, to give them all separate accounts? If I've got myself in a bit of a small mess, I'd like to sort it out so that I'm doing things right from now on.

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 7 years 1 week ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Well see what the others have

Well see what the others have to say but I can't see any reason why going down the reseller route is a bad idea. It's relatively cheap, gives you a degree of control over things, ensures that you have properly hosted separate vhost accounts with the benefit of cpanel running on each if you want to give your clients a degree of control to such things as their email accounts, web stats (cpanel should be set up with Awstats or Webalizer and these provide as much detailed info as analytics with the benefit of not providing Google with yet more leverage on the internet)

Operating the reseller account is not a difficult thing you are not going to be faced with sudden perplexing matters to get your head around.

Lastly the cost of some of these accounts is close to that of many simple shared hosting accounts. While I can't vouch directly for any I would feel reasonably safe with any mentioned or that have a degree of backing such as those from the Wordpress site, they may not be trouble free but they certainly aren't fly by nights (Apropos the MT troubles they did give a lengthy explanation of the issue and the steps they had taken to rectify things, not great but they handled things competently and the issue was only with their grid service packages. )

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Lambinastormtro...
Lambinastormtroopersuit's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Canada
Last seen: 6 years 35 weeks ago
Canada
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 279
Points: 86

That's great ~ thanks for the

That's great ~ thanks for the advice. I think I'll do what you suggested.