12 replies [Last post]
Ed Seedhouse
Ed Seedhouse's picture
Offline
Guru
Victoria British Columbia
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Victoria British Columbia
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2005-12-14
Posts: 3570
Points: 675

Downloaded FF4 and IE9 yesterday and they have gone with the fashion of moving the "Home" icon way over to the right.

Am I the only person who thinks they belong on the LEFT?

Grrr...

Ed Seedhouse

Posting Guidelines

Watch out! I am carrying irony, sarcasm and satire, and know how to use them.

Tags:
gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 22 hours 4 min ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9759
Points: 3841

I agree, Ed. I don't

I agree, Ed. I don't understand the desire to mess with user expectations without having some clear cut advantage. My particular peeves include the reload button's being moved, and the default loss of the menu bar and status bar. Why in hell would someone default to a mystery meat button?

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 5 years 21 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

was also thinking the same

Smile was also thinking the same this morning while wondering whether to download FF4 and noticing the changes, really didn't like it when Opera changed and the others seem to slavishly follow suite. Wish they'd stop it or at least allow you to keep old styles.

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Tyssen
Tyssen's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 5 years 33 weeks ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2004-05-01
Posts: 8201
Points: 1386

In FF4, the home button is on

In FF4, the home button is on the left. And if you use the default setting, the reload button is right next to it.

How to get help
Post a link. If you can't post a link, jsFiddle it.
My blog | My older articles | CSS Reference

Ed Seedhouse
Ed Seedhouse's picture
Offline
Guru
Victoria British Columbia
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Victoria British Columbia
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2005-12-14
Posts: 3570
Points: 675

Not in the copy I downloaded,

Not in the copy I downloaded, which is the official release and using the default theme, downloaded yesterday afternoon. The home button is way over on the right and the reload is at the right hand side of the location form. Firefox 4.0 official release.

And the same with IE9. Operal 11.01 has it on the left although they've hidden most of the menus in a very inconvenient manner,Chrome doesn't even appear to have one nor does Safari.

Ed Seedhouse

Posting Guidelines

Watch out! I am carrying irony, sarcasm and satire, and know how to use them.

Tyssen
Tyssen's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 5 years 33 weeks ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2004-05-01
Posts: 8201
Points: 1386

Looks like it's a Windows

Looks like it's a Windows thing http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Firefox_4_Windows_Screenshot.png because on my Mac it's on the left.

How to get help
Post a link. If you can't post a link, jsFiddle it.
My blog | My older articles | CSS Reference

Ed Seedhouse
Ed Seedhouse's picture
Offline
Guru
Victoria British Columbia
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Victoria British Columbia
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2005-12-14
Posts: 3570
Points: 675

Tyssen wrote: Looks like it's

Tyssen wrote:

Looks like it's a Windows thing http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Firefox_4_Windows_Screenshot.png because on my Mac it's on the left.

Maybe I can find a skin that puts the button back on the left, but all the themes I already had in 3.6 won't work anymore. And I don't have much time right now to hunt for FF4 skins. Maybe later in the week.

Ed Seedhouse

Posting Guidelines

Watch out! I am carrying irony, sarcasm and satire, and know how to use them.

muede
muede's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 9 years 9 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT+3
Joined: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1
Points: 1

I am ok with the "reload"

I am ok with the "reload" button to the right from the location form, but using the "home"icon is rather incovenient. Hope they will let us have a choice and use old settings.

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 4 weeks 2 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2043
Points: 2268

I don't think I've ever

I don't think I've ever actually used the Home button.

Ed Seedhouse
Ed Seedhouse's picture
Offline
Guru
Victoria British Columbia
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Victoria British Columbia
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2005-12-14
Posts: 3570
Points: 675

Turns out that in FF4 you can

Turns out that in FF4 you can move it to where you like it. Use the View dropdown, hover over "toolbars" a and left click on "customize" at bottom. Drag the existing home icon onto the window that appears, then drag it from there to where you want it.

I prefer it just right of the "back" and "forward" arrow icons just to the left of the address bar.

IE9 still resists my efforts, but I use it so rarely it doesn't matter much.

Ed Seedhouse

Posting Guidelines

Watch out! I am carrying irony, sarcasm and satire, and know how to use them.

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 22 hours 4 min ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9759
Points: 3841

Fantabulous

Thanks, Ed. That got the home and the reload/stop buttons over where they belong.

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

Ed Seedhouse
Ed Seedhouse's picture
Offline
Guru
Victoria British Columbia
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Victoria British Columbia
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2005-12-14
Posts: 3570
Points: 675

gary.turner wrote: Thanks,

gary.turner wrote:

Thanks, Ed. That got the home and the reload/stop buttons over where they belong.

But of course we shouldn't have had to. Stare

Ed Seedhouse

Posting Guidelines

Watch out! I am carrying irony, sarcasm and satire, and know how to use them.

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 22 hours 4 min ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9759
Points: 3841

In agreeance

Ed Seedhouse wrote:

But of course we shouldn't have had to. Stare

See comment #1, above.

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.