10 replies [Last post]
Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 19 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

So am I the last one to discover that Firefox is adding auto resize textareas.

Took me ages trying to figure out what was happening especially as I was working on a script heavy app that dumps these sorts of effects all over the place, spent ages trying to track the script down and disable it, tearing my air out with fury etc, then noticed the damned corner gif on a non script dev site, ah I thought that's not right.

Firefox adds this; why? I don't want textareas resizing it screws layouts up with frigging inline fixed widths.

textarea {resize: none;}

Thankyou FF but kindly piss off and stay out of my layouts.

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Tags:
gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 9 hours 17 min ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9738
Points: 3817

Not the last

That honor, for the time being, belongs to me. But, don't blame Firefox. It's a css3 property.

See also css3 property demo.

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 19 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

It's caused me no end of lost

It's caused me no end of lost time trying to puzzle it out, naturally I thought it was a jQuery script running in the complicated-ish WP api.

Opera does not appear to add this property to it's default sheet why does Firefox? no browser should be adding what ammounts to effects. In a given layout especially a fluid one to suddenly have a textarea kick into fixed width can ruin a layout.

Any way a new generic ruleset enters my normalisation rules:

textarea {resize: none;}

Curse you FFyou ARE starting to become a nuisance and I don't appear to be the only one thinking this Sad

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 9 hours 17 min ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9738
Points: 3817

You're quite right; FF has

You're quite right; FF has screwed the pooch on this by defaulting to {resize: both;}. The specs clearly set the default to "none".

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

thepineapplehead
thepineapplehead's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 40 weeks 3 days ago
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2004-06-30
Posts: 9668
Points: 801

Hugo wrote:Curse you FFyou

Hugo wrote:

Curse you FFyou ARE starting to become a nuisance and I don't appear to be the only one thinking this Sad

Not for the same reason, but yes:

http://angrytechnician.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/this-is-not-a-major-version-increase

Verschwindende wrote:
  • CSS doesn't make pies

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 19 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Good point in that link, it's

Good point in that link, it's not V 5.0 not so soon after 4.0.1? Bloody Google and Chrome are to blame. The author of HTML Validator extension is also fed up with trying to keep up with FF releases and V 5.0 broke his extension or at least he had to rework it to function and it's not backpat with < V 5.0

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 19 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Further, the other reason I

Further, the other reason I dislike this intensely is that for this property to work it has to inject markup in the form of inline styles, this is behaviour and feels very wrong for a browser to be doing this.

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Tyssen
Tyssen's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 4 years 32 weeks ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2004-05-01
Posts: 8201
Points: 1386

Been in Webkit for ages

Also I like it.

How to get help
Post a link. If you can't post a link, jsFiddle it.
My blog | My older articles | CSS Reference

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 19 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

And does Webkit actually

And does Webkit actually implement this property on behalf of the user?

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 9 hours 17 min ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9738
Points: 3817

Ingested markup?

Hugo wrote:

Further, the other reason I dislike this intensely is that for this property to work it has to inject markup in the form of inline styles, this is behaviour [sic--damned Brits can't spell for socks] and feels very wrong for a browser to be doing this.

What do you mean by that? I haven't noticed any examples of added, or injected markup. What did I miss? Are we speaking orthogonally?

As far as I can tell, re-sizable elements (whichever they are) in FF simply have an incorrect default value. It's as if background-color defaulted to green rather than transparent.

I can't find a bug filed on this. I plan to look again, and file if I can't find it. I just need to find some time in which I'm not having to interrupt myself for other things.

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 19 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

If you grab the corner resize

If you grab the corner resize graphic and resize that textarea observing your markup simultaneously you will see attribute style="height: #; width: #;" appear on your textarea element adjusting itself as you resize.

Tell me I'm daft to find this unsettling, unwanted and naughty behaviour?

However I have just found this feature rather useful writing a ticket on a project tracker with one of those far too small textarea boxes... but I still think it's wrong Smile

I don't expect you will find a bug entered for this as I don't think it is a bug but by design and how else would the property be able to work unless it did add inline styles on the fly, but it must be the developers choice to use the property.

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me