7 replies [Last post]
michele_london
Offline
newbie
IT
Last seen: 10 years 38 weeks ago
IT
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2009-11-11
Posts: 3
Points: 4

chi mi puo spiegare come mai il "float" si comporta in modo diverso tra IE7 e Firefox ?
vi allego un esempio elementare http://www.itinerarialpinistici.com/test/prova.htm

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 5 years 30 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

I shall attempt a translation

Quote:

who puo to never explain to me like the " float" it is behaved in various way between IE7 and Firefox? I enclose you an elementary example http://www.itinerarialpinistici.com/test/prova.htm

Hmm so much for online translators Puzzled

I shall attempt a translation but this is an English language forum and few will be able to translate Spanish? or is that Italian?

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 5 years 30 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Your test case is fatally

Your test case is fatally flawed. Construct a proper test complete with all necessary elements i.e DTD please.

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Stomme poes
Stomme poes's picture
Offline
Elder
Netherlands
Last seen: 8 years 41 weeks ago
Netherlands
Timezone: GMT+2
Joined: 2008-02-04
Posts: 1854
Points: 378

It's Italian.

It's Italian.

I'm no expert, but I fake one on teh Internets

michele_london
Offline
newbie
IT
Last seen: 10 years 38 weeks ago
IT
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2009-11-11
Posts: 3
Points: 4

My Apologise guys, yes i am

My Apologise guys, yes i am italian;
i normally am on Italian Forum and so i wrote in Italian;
anyway, i have added the DOCTYPE;
now you should be able to look at it

thank you

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 5 years 30 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Now we have the universal

Now we have the universal translator working Smile can you explain what the issue is that you are questioning with floats

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

michele_london
Offline
newbie
IT
Last seen: 10 years 38 weeks ago
IT
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2009-11-11
Posts: 3
Points: 4

The problem is that the DIV

The problem is that the DIV menu and the DIV contents are not shown in the same way in IE7 and Firefox. The Behaviour of the box-model is different: while in IE7 the "float:left" works properly (the 2 DIV are one beside the other) in Firefox there are overlapped

Stomme poes
Stomme poes's picture
Offline
Elder
Netherlands
Last seen: 8 years 41 weeks ago
Netherlands
Timezone: GMT+2
Joined: 2008-02-04
Posts: 1854
Points: 378

michele, what you are seeing

michele,
what you are seeing is correct behaviour in Firefox and crap as usual in IE. : )

The green MENU box is floated left. The blue CONTENTS box is not floated. What should happen is, the blue CONTENTS box should act as if it cannot see the float (while the inline text inside it DOES see the float). So, the blue box slides underneath the float, while the inline content (text) inside it gets out of the way of the float.

But when the non-float gets Haslayout triggered on it, then it acts incorrectly in IE6 and 7, and makes the blue box react to the float and be pushed away by it.

IE8, if you can get a copy, does it correctly (like Firefox does).

I'm no expert, but I fake one on teh Internets