13 replies [Last post]
pfish
pfish's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Last seen: 9 years 8 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-7
Joined: 2008-10-14
Posts: 60
Points: 44

Hi
http://www.sharkbite.ca/sharktestsites/RyanVenier/index.html
http://www.sharkbite.ca/sharktestsites/RyanVenier/venier-style.css
I would like the sidebar on the left to go all the way down to the footer - depending on the content in the MainContent area, can I do this easily?
Thanks

Mod edit/ links corrected using BB url tags. If using html tags you need to actually put some link text in Wink

CupidsToejam
CupidsToejam's picture
Offline
Guru
Florida
Last seen: 5 years 3 weeks ago
Florida
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2008-08-15
Posts: 2637
Points: 1556

i dont see anything to look

i dont see anything to look at. got a link or something?

pfish
pfish's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Last seen: 9 years 8 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-7
Joined: 2008-10-14
Posts: 60
Points: 44

Links

Sorry, here are the links.

pfish wrote:

Hi
Site
CSS
I would like the sidebar on the left to go all the way down to the footer - depending on the content in the MainContent area, can I do this easily?
Thanks

CupidsToejam
CupidsToejam's picture
Offline
Guru
Florida
Last seen: 5 years 3 weeks ago
Florida
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2008-08-15
Posts: 2637
Points: 1556

not sure I understand the

not sure I understand the question. you want the sidebar to go all the way to the bottom of content, or do you want it to touch the footer no matter how much content is there?

pfish
pfish's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Last seen: 9 years 8 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-7
Joined: 2008-10-14
Posts: 60
Points: 44

I would like the sidebar to

I would like the sidebar to go all the way down to touch the footer no matter how much content there is, some pages will have more content, some less. Some pages will also have more (or less) content in the side bar, but I would like the color to go all the way down no matter how much content is in the sidebar.

CupidsToejam
CupidsToejam's picture
Offline
Guru
Florida
Last seen: 5 years 3 weeks ago
Florida
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2008-08-15
Posts: 2637
Points: 1556

the best way to achieve this,

the best way to achieve this, right now, would be to use faux columns

pfish
pfish's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Last seen: 9 years 8 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-7
Joined: 2008-10-14
Posts: 60
Points: 44

Alright

Alright, that's cool, I like it. Now another question - you see the four photos? I need them to rotate on every reload so you would see a different combination of photos every page (or reload). What would be the best way to do this?

CupidsToejam
CupidsToejam's picture
Offline
Guru
Florida
Last seen: 5 years 3 weeks ago
Florida
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2008-08-15
Posts: 2637
Points: 1556

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=image+ro

pfish
pfish's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Last seen: 9 years 8 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-7
Joined: 2008-10-14
Posts: 60
Points: 44

Smart ass

Hey don't be so cheeky, I got 3,430,000 results, I was looking for a suggestion, if you don't want to help, fine, let someone who does answer.

Deuce
Deuce's picture
Offline
Guru
Somewhere, USA
Last seen: 3 years 10 weeks ago
Somewhere, USA
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2005-11-20
Posts: 4424
Points: 1843

When it doubt, read the A

When in doubt, read the A List Apart article...

all ยป http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/all

Google isn't a bunch of guys reading and grading web sites, it's more like a bunch of monkeys sniffing food and putting the good bananas at the top. -Triumph

pfish
pfish's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Last seen: 9 years 8 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-7
Joined: 2008-10-14
Posts: 60
Points: 44

IE issue

Thanks,
I hope someone can help. I did find one that looked pretty good. the issue is the all four images need to rotate on every click. The one I found works well in every browser but IE (the dreaded IE curse). Is there an easy way I can fix this?
Thanks.
the php code I used is

<?php
$files = glob('{*.PNG,*.png,*.JPG,*.jpg,*.GIF,*.gif}', GLOB_BRACE);
readfile($files[array_rand($files)]);
?>

pfish
pfish's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Last seen: 9 years 8 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-7
Joined: 2008-10-14
Posts: 60
Points: 44

not a css issue

I guess because it is not a css issue I did not get a response. I went to a php forum and did get an answer that solved my problem.
Cheers.

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 5 years 37 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Well it was a question more

Well it was a question more suited to a php forum, even though many of us here are pretty familiar with working in that language glad you found a solution. Out of interest would this not be served by a fancy jQuery type gallery plugin?

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

pfish
pfish's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Last seen: 9 years 8 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-7
Joined: 2008-10-14
Posts: 60
Points: 44

Out of interest...

Hugo wrote:

Out of interest would this not be served by a fancy jQuery type gallery plugin?

It may well have, I don't know. I was just looking for the simplest solution and that did it, do you have a better idea?