5 replies [Last post]
avocadoman333
avocadoman333's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 9 years 17 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-7
Joined: 2010-07-20
Posts: 2
Points: 3

I have a website I am working on for a local historical society, but I
am running into problems with vertically aligning the text in buttons
on a Spry Menu Bar (the code for which being generated with
Dreamweaver. I am trying to make the hyperlink for the button go away
when it would normally link to the current page, and make the text
bold, while keeping all other aspects of the button the same as the
others. However, the text will not vertically align properly (I've
tried
"vertical-align: middle", "vertical-align: 50%", and making both the
top and bottom padding the same, even with values of "auto") . It
does this only in Firefox (as far as I've tested).

I have six links to source code for varying files attached.
The .html.txt files contain the source code for two sample .html
files. The layout.css.txt and layout-ie6.css.txt files contain the
main CSS code for the pages in Firefox and Internet Explorer,
respectively (there are conditional comments in all .html files to
discern between the browsers and choose which CSS stylesheet to use).
SpryMenuBar.js.txt is the JavaScript code for the menu bar (mostly
covering the events triggered when hovering over a button), and
SpryMenuBarVertical.css.txt is the CSS code focusing directly on the
menu bar.

Here are the source files:

http://avocadoman333.cwahi.net/webpage/filesa3/index.html.txt
http://avocadoman333.cwahi.net/webpage/filesa3/staff.html.txt
http://avocadoman333.cwahi.net/webpage/filesa3/layout.css.txt
http://avocadoman333.cwahi.net/webpage/filesa3/layout-ie6.css.txt
http://avocadoman333.cwahi.net/webpage/filesa3/SpryMenuBar.js.txt
http://avocadoman333.cwahi.net/webpage/filesa3/SpryMenuBarVertical.css.txt

If any of you can figure this out, it would be a great help.

- Avocadoman333

CupidsToejam
CupidsToejam's picture
Offline
Guru
Florida
Last seen: 4 years 10 weeks ago
Florida
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2008-08-15
Posts: 2637
Points: 1556

wow, out of all these links,

wow, out of all these links, you couldnt just simple provide one to the webpage?

Tyssen
Tyssen's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 5 years 5 weeks ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2004-05-01
Posts: 8201
Points: 1386

Yep, I'm not even going to

Yep, I'm not even going to bother looking at any of those files. If you want help for free, you gotta make it easy for people.

How to get help
Post a link. If you can't post a link, jsFiddle it.
My blog | My older articles | CSS Reference

avocadoman333
avocadoman333's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 9 years 17 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-7
Joined: 2010-07-20
Posts: 2
Points: 3

a link to just the webpage

OK, here's a link to the one of the pages as it is now.

If you need the code (which I'm a bit confused on, since this site says you do need to post ALL of it, or give links to it), you're welcome to take a look at some of those pieces of code.

http://avocadoman333.cwahi.net/webpage/staff.html

- avocadoman333

Ed Seedhouse
Ed Seedhouse's picture
Offline
Guru
Victoria British Columbia
Last seen: 50 weeks 4 days ago
Victoria British Columbia
Timezone: GMT-8
Joined: 2005-12-14
Posts: 3570
Points: 675

avocadoman333 wrote: If you

avocadoman333 wrote:

If you need the code (which I'm a bit confused on, since this site says you do need to post ALL of it, or give links to it), you're welcome to take a look at some of those pieces of code.

What we need most is a link to the problem site. With a couple of free add ons to firefox we can then see all your html and your CSS easily, and do other diagnostic tests as well.

If you can't provide a link, then the next best thing is ALL your html and ALL your CSS within CODE tags. That's a distant second best. Make sure you have validated ALL your code first before posting.

You should be using a STRICT document type, and you need to close your comments on your conditional comments for IE. Unclosed comments can really mess up a page.

Also there is no need to use Absolute positioning on that page. Position major elements with floats and margins. It is much more robust cross browser. The way you are using AP is a recipe for trouble. AP is useful and handy for special effects, but using it to layout major page elements leads to problems for almost everyone who tries it.

Ed Seedhouse

Posting Guidelines

Watch out! I am carrying irony, sarcasm and satire, and know how to use them.

Tyssen
Tyssen's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 5 years 5 weeks ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2004-05-01
Posts: 8201
Points: 1386

avocadoman333 wrote: I am

avocadoman333 wrote:

I am trying to make the hyperlink for the button go away when it would normally link to the current page, and make the text bold, while keeping all other aspects of the button the same as the others.

I'm sorry but I don't really understand the nature of your problem.

How to get help
Post a link. If you can't post a link, jsFiddle it.
My blog | My older articles | CSS Reference