11 replies [Last post]
schneidee
schneidee's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 8 years 43 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2010-12-01
Posts: 6
Points: 9

Hi There,

I have my sight up and running and I thought it was ready to go until a colleague of mine said to me that the footer looked out of sorts. I was quite surprised! I built the site in dreamweaver checking it with Mozilla, Safari and IE8 during the process. I didn't think to check it in IE6/IE7 and I should have. It appears that both the footer and the floated boxes are not rendering properly in these earlier versions of IE. Please please help because I don't know where to go from here and am quite frustrated at this point.

The site is www.kidscando.ca

Let me know what other info I can provide you with.

Thank you so much for your help in advance.

Aimee

Deuce
Deuce's picture
Offline
Guru
Somewhere, USA
Last seen: 2 years 13 weeks ago
Somewhere, USA
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2005-11-20
Posts: 4424
Points: 1843

I would recommend cleaning up

I would recommend cleaning up the validtion errors so that we have a fresh slate to look at.
http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.kidscando.ca%2F

They are all mostly pretty straight forward, but towards the bottom you have missing closing tags and such, which will for sure cause issues.

all » http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/all

Google isn't a bunch of guys reading and grading web sites, it's more like a bunch of monkeys sniffing food and putting the good bananas at the top. -Triumph

schneidee
schneidee's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 8 years 43 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2010-12-01
Posts: 6
Points: 9

Cleaning up the Errors

I am not quite sure I understand how to clean up these errors. I believe these errors are coming from the jquery slider carousel that i downloaded and I don't really understand what some of the markup validator is telling me to do. I am afraid to start messing around here! Can you advise further.

Aimee

Deuce
Deuce's picture
Offline
Guru
Somewhere, USA
Last seen: 2 years 13 weeks ago
Somewhere, USA
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2005-11-20
Posts: 4424
Points: 1843

Quote: You used an unescaped

Quote:

You used an unescaped ampersand "&": this may be valid in some contexts, but it is recommended to use "&", which is always safe.

all » http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/all

Google isn't a bunch of guys reading and grading web sites, it's more like a bunch of monkeys sniffing food and putting the good bananas at the top. -Triumph

schneidee
schneidee's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 8 years 43 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2010-12-01
Posts: 6
Points: 9

HTML errors fixed/validated now what?

I have cleaned up all the errors and the site seems to be validated... NOW WHAT? it still doesn't work in IE6 and IE7. The middle box (where there are 3 boxes) is sinking below the other 2 boxes and footer is wacky. How can I fix this? What is wrong with IE.......

Aimee

regia
regia's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
San Diego
Last seen: 4 years 22 weeks ago
San Diego
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2010-10-24
Posts: 313
Points: 360

Good question!

IE6 in particular and IE7 have several problems, you are probably experiencing the double margin bug. You will probably need a conditional comment for these 2 browsers to correct the css just for them.

If no-one has answered you I will take a look tomorrow, too late to fire up Windows right now Puzzled

schneidee
schneidee's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 8 years 43 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2010-12-01
Posts: 6
Points: 9

Re: Good question!

Have you had a chance to look at the problem??

regia
regia's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
San Diego
Last seen: 4 years 22 weeks ago
San Diego
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2010-10-24
Posts: 313
Points: 360

Thanks for bumping

I forgot. To fix IE7 you just need to change the width of legalcontainer to 290px in the regular style sheet, the other browsers won't mind.
IE6 is another kettle of fish as your whole menu is messed up, your IE6 stylesheet is showing as being on your hard drive, the header and footer are out of whack, you need a pngfix for the png images to work in IE6 and the whole thing is a uneditable Dreamweaver template. Do you really need it to work properly in IE6, it's a pretty old browser and only has about 10% market share, it depends on your target audience? I can help you to debug it, but you will have to make quite a few changes.

schneidee
schneidee's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 8 years 43 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2010-12-01
Posts: 6
Points: 9

Thank you! One more thing...

Ok so that 10 px really made the difference in the legalcontainer. Who knew but thank you so much for that tip!

I think i will forget about IE6 because it sounds like you are suggesting that it is a lot of work.

I see one more issue with the homepage. On the image slide there is a white space on the right and bottom side of the pictures. Can you suggest why and how to fix it. Thanks so much for all of your help.

regia
regia's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
San Diego
Last seen: 4 years 22 weeks ago
San Diego
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2010-10-24
Posts: 313
Points: 360

The carousel div has an

The carousel div has an inline styling of 796px wide and 296ps height, while the iframe size is 800px x 300px. Change the carousel div sizes to match.
Your thank you can be a hit on the "Best Reply" button which will give me 3 points. And thank you too. Cool

schneidee
schneidee's picture
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 8 years 43 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2010-12-01
Posts: 6
Points: 9

My carousel div is called

My carousel div is called "headline". I dont see a discrepency is the size between the iframe and the headline div?? Did you find a div called the carousel div... if so where cuz I really want to fix this.

regia
regia's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
San Diego
Last seen: 4 years 22 weeks ago
San Diego
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2010-10-24
Posts: 313
Points: 360

schneidee wrote: My carousel

schneidee wrote:

My carousel div is called "headline". I dont see a discrepency is the size between the iframe and the headline div?? Did you find a div called the carousel div... if so where cuz I really want to fix this.

Picture 2.png