25 replies [Last post]
Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2040
Points: 2262

Hey, I just noticed in my account profile that I can choose some badges but I noticed that they all have a link attached to them with an href of http://www.csscreator.com/badges. That page doesn't exist (or perhaps I don't have access to it at my user level).

Also, would it be more useful to see the user's badges on their posts (maybe under their username) instead of just on their profile page?

Just wondering.

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 36 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

I think it's just meant to

I think it's just meant to link to the selection page
http://csscreator.com/user/1769/badges

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2040
Points: 2262

Is that a link to your

Is that a link to your badges? I get "This page requires a level of authorization above your current level. The page may be unpublished for editing.". Smile

Tony
Tony's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 6 days 7 hours ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2003-03-12
Posts: 5342
Points: 2963

I pretty sure I put up a

I pretty sure I put up a holding page at /badges that was going to explain what the badges were all about.
I will have a look to see where it went.

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2040
Points: 2262

Ah, I see. I was just

Ah, I see. I was just wondering. Thank you. Smile

Tony
Tony's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 6 days 7 hours ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2003-03-12
Posts: 5342
Points: 2963

Ok it's back, I had set the

Ok it's back, I had set the path incorrectly.
Don't get too excited It's not much of a page.

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2040
Points: 2262

It's perfect. Since you

It's perfect. Smile

Since you asked for suggestions how about "VB.NET" and "C#" which differentiates between the two major languages used in ASP.NET?

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 36 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Lets have less of the MS

Lets have less of the MS stuff Stare

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Tony
Tony's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 6 days 7 hours ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2003-03-12
Posts: 5342
Points: 2963

Hugo, BY MS do you mean our

Hugo,
BY MS do you mean our favorite browser and OS maker Cash and ASP?
Or am I missing something.

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2040
Points: 2262

Hugo wrote: Lets have less of

Hugo wrote:

Lets have less of the MS stuff Stare

St. William, forgive this one for his blasphemy.

Laughing out loud Laughing out loud

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2040
Points: 2262

I also notice when you roll

I also notice when you roll over the ASP.NET badge the title says "ASP". ASP refers to classic ASP or, as those of us in the .NET community like to say, "ASP.OLD".
Wink

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsdZKCh6RsU

Tony
Tony's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 6 days 7 hours ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2003-03-12
Posts: 5342
Points: 2963

Hi Verschwindende, That's

Hi Verschwindende,
That's fixed now, thanks for pointing it out.
When I last looked at ASP, .net was just a pipe dream, back in the late 1990's

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2040
Points: 2262

Tony wrote: Hi

Tony wrote:

Hi Verschwindende,
That's fixed now, thanks for pointing it out.
When I last looked at ASP, .net was just a pipe dream, back in the late 1990's

Shall I evangelize you? Wink

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 36 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

bah!

bah! might as well have badges for Qbasic,

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2040
Points: 2262

Ooh, that hurts. Low blow.

Ooh, that hurts. Low blow.

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 22 hours 11 min ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9742
Points: 3821

Proselytize? I'll show you proselytize

Verschwindende wrote:

Shall I evangelize you? Wink

There are those of us who have seen the light, and the light is Linux. Tongue

I have not been enamored of MSFT attempts to develop/support programming languages or 'foundations'. Start with BASIC, which was the weakest of all BASICs, through overly obese C++ foundation classes, then consider their attempts to hi-jack Java and javascript.

Keep in mind that we who have abandoned Win-world made a considered decision to improve our lot. We still have to deal with Windows, but only because of its ubiquity.

Laughing out loud

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 36 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Wouldn't mind a badge for

Big smile

Wouldn't mind a badge for ColdFusion seeing how I've had to suffer it for the last two years

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2040
Points: 2262

Someone should come up with a

Someone should come up with a tattered and war-torn IE badge that we could choose to show we've conquered the beast. Tongue

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 36 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

gary.turner

gary.turner wrote:
Verschwindende wrote:

Shall I evangelize you? Wink

There are those of us who have seen the light, and the light is Linux. Tongue

Not so much light as a black tiny screen reminiscent of my days with command line basic, 15 years on and I find I'm back to square one - ssh is great fun! even more fun is configuring an absolutely bare bones Linux server via it - a world of hurt, huge world of hurt especially when you have two, one ever so slightly different in pre-configurement, both requiring setup post haste Sad

As a self confessed absolute guru and legend Gary I shall be hitting you with all my problems Big smile to solve, first of which is why does Linux have such an aversion to running GUIs ?? OpenVNC ! rubbish too impossibly difficult to configure and when finally successful you arrive at twm? and a bash window?? startx doesn't want to run what use is another terminal window in low resolution graphics mode of some description.

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 22 hours 11 min ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9742
Points: 3821

You want a GUI for admin?

How does that work?

Oddly enough, I was just checking the kernels on my boxes for a problematic runtime parameter. SSH into my server, switch to root, and query sysctl. Ack, my 64bit working box is OK, but the 32bit server is vulnerable. So, run sysctl with the correct parameter, and I'm good to go. Just what would be the process with which GUI app?

I'm trying to think of a task that requires more than an editor or a shell. (include scp and sftp) This is where Emacs excels; you can run the shell from within Emacs, so you don't have to close the editor to get back to the shell. On the LAN, I will mount a few server directories on my work machine, which is handy.

VNC is a nuther beast. I tried it out a few years back, and it worked as advertised. Like X-window, the server/client relationship seems backasswards. I've just had no use for it, as I don't need to, say, run a spreadsheet app or surf the web on a foreign machine. Don't look to me for help; I've slept since then.

cheers,

gary

If your web page is as clever as you can make it, it's probably too clever for you to debug or maintain.

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 36 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

It doesn't work I just have

It doesn't work Smile I just have a thing about seeing an operating system in all it's manifest glory, just want to know it's there!

Actually I like the simplicity and power of a shell, and hang it I did cut my teeth on them years ago, now very happily use it to configure the likes of vsftpd, and virtual ftp directories/users, sudoers etc and VI is more than adequate for this purpose where conf files need editing; VNC I simply thought would be a convenience at times and have no intention of running a gui on a web server, but vnc is not straight forward and I've wasted too much time on it for too little useful return so it's dumped!

There are times though when a command line doesn't quite cut it, I do like graphical tree views of directory structure at times.

Erm you can't just cry of helping out in that manner, you have to help a struggling neophyte Linux user see the light you can't let them be sucked back into the darkness that is the great beast MS it's your moral duty Stare

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 23 weeks 5 days ago
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2040
Points: 2262

.NET framework

Well, just to top this one off, I've got to say that if your only experience with .NET is with version 1.x then there have been manifold improvements. I dare say it's impressive how expansive the framework really is. LINQ to SQL is worth the price of admission alone. I really can't imagine going back to PHP. Visual Studio is definitely worth a look. You can download an express version for free and use it for personal or commercial purposes. It's simply the best IDE available.

Too bad they can't put the same magic into IE. Tongue

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 36 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Can you run it on

Can you run it on Linux/Apache setup though?

We have two hugely powerfull Dell blade servers with Quad core Xeons 4GB ram each, sadly as we were working in a ColdFusion environment they were set up with Win 2008, IIS, MSSQL and they are utterly horrible to try and administer, I never want to have to run web servers based on Windows again, all those resources being sucked up by the OS, IIS is cack and binds to our entire IP block when it shouldn't and you can't tell it not to without running a separate utility fix that wasn't loaded from install disks and is not available to download.

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Tony
Tony's picture
Offline
Moderator
Brisbane
Last seen: 6 days 7 hours ago
Brisbane
Timezone: GMT+10
Joined: 2003-03-12
Posts: 5342
Points: 2963

Hugo there is a development

Hugo there is a development framework for .net that runs on Linux called mono http://www.mono-project.com/Main_Page
I haven't tried it out but it looks interesting.

Hugo
Hugo's picture
Offline
Moderator
London
Last seen: 4 years 36 weeks ago
London
Joined: 2004-06-06
Posts: 15668
Points: 2806

Ah now that is an interesting

Ah now that is an interesting package and available via yum repo, have a feeling that will be installed on the new server for the hell of it Smile

Before you make your first post it is vital that you READ THE POSTING GUIDELINES!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please post ALL your code - both CSS & HTML - in [code] tags
Please validate and ensure you have included a full Doctype before posting.
Why validate? Read Me

Chris..S
Chris..S's picture
Offline
Moderator
Last seen: 6 years 51 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT+1
Joined: 2005-02-22
Posts: 6078
Points: 173

Hugo wrote:

Hugo wrote:

Big smile

Wouldn't mind a badge for ColdFusion seeing how I've had to suffer it for the last two years

Badge? I think you deserve a medal!

What Linux are you running?
Did you try Sabayon?

Plus there is webmin a web based control panel for your server.