5 replies [Last post]
krose
krose's picture
Offline
newbie
New York, NY
Last seen: 3 years 28 weeks ago
New York, NY
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2011-01-08
Posts: 5
Points: 9

But the page looks perfect in Chrome, Opera and Safari - the rest of the site's pages validate, too.

I imagine there's probably some small fix - I'm just not aware of it. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.krosedesign.com

Thank you!

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 2 years 24 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2037
Points: 2256

I'm not seeing a problem,

I'm not seeing a problem, what am I missing?

What's the deal with the empty DIVs?

yet again.

regia
regia's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
San Diego
Last seen: 3 weeks 1 day ago
San Diego
Timezone: GMT-4
Joined: 2010-10-24
Posts: 305
Points: 344

I'm not seeing any problems

I'm not seeing any problems either in FF3.5 on Mac.

Verschwindende wrote:

I'm not seeing a problem, what am I missing?

What's the deal with the empty DIVs?

Strange way of coding....?

krose
krose's picture
Offline
newbie
New York, NY
Last seen: 3 years 28 weeks ago
New York, NY
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2011-01-08
Posts: 5
Points: 9

I'm viewing on a Mac on

I'm viewing on a Mac on Firefox 3.6 where I noted the small gaps. I had my friend check on his PC using Firefox and he noted the gaps, too - but if you guys can't see them; that's the best news I've heard all day. Smile

The DIVS aren't actually empty. They contain background images and/or were used at parent containers.

Thanks again for checking my site; I appreciate it.

Verschwindende
Verschwindende's picture
Offline
Guru
Last seen: 2 years 24 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2037
Points: 2256

krose wrote:... The DIVS

krose wrote:

... The DIVS aren't actually empty. ...

If you have <div></div> in your markup then it is empty. I've never found a situation when they are necessary. I probably left one or two in over the years. I blame laziness.

krose wrote:

...They contain background images and/or were used at parent containers. ...

If it's a parent container then it may or may not make sense, I was speaking of the DIVs with nothing in them.

Examples:
<div id="subheader"></div>
<div id="logotop"></div>

You even named this one as redundant:

        <div id="rightmargin">
        </div>
Just put a right margin where it belongs.

yet again.

danlisa
Offline
newbie
Last seen: 3 years 27 weeks ago
Timezone: GMT+8
Joined: 2011-01-04
Posts: 6
Points: 7

thanks for your info...ha ha

thanks for your info...ha ha ..i am learning too.