7 replies [Last post]
oneeezy
oneeezy's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Beaumont, TX
Last seen: 2 years 14 weeks ago
Beaumont, TX
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2009-11-18
Posts: 98
Points: 126

Ok, please look at my problem:

http://www.phone7forum.com/viewforum.php?f=2
http://www.phone7forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4

I've been editing a phpBB forum and adding in all of my css customizations and I've gotten pretty far a long.. but as you can see in the 2 pages above the problem I'm faced with. My custom "main content" box starts out fine at first and sits exactly where i want it to at the top middle of the page.., but when i stick the actual phpBB "forum code" inside it, the forum content will start where my left sidebar ends (way down at the bottom of the page).

My website is a "fluid width" website Big smile t won't screw up. The "left sidebar" is floated to the left, has width of 300px, and height 100%. The "main content" h

as a left margin of 345px to push it past the sidebar so it will sit to the right of it. So thats my setup and it seemed to be working perfectly fine for me until i started adding in "forum content". . . Does anyone have any idea on how to fix? Do you guys think that the problem exists in the forum's existing css/markup or is it a problem that I've created in the way I've layed out my website?

I'm desperate for help! Thanks guys for looking!!

http://oneillwebs.com/ ~ yes, my personal website built purely with tables which needs to be updated heavily Wink

(before i knew anything!)

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 2 hours 54 min ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9057
Points: 3026

One should not use dangerous

One should not use dangerous properties such as "clear" without compelling reason. See line 212 here

.forumbg {
    background: none repeat-x scroll 0 0 #EBEBEB;
    margin-bottom: 4px;
    padding: 0 5px;
    clear: both;    
}

cheers,

gary

Unplanned code results in a tangled wad of brain-cramping confusion.

There are enough html & css demos and tutorials to be interesting. Please visit.

oneeezy
oneeezy's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Beaumont, TX
Last seen: 2 years 14 weeks ago
Beaumont, TX
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2009-11-18
Posts: 98
Points: 126

Gary! thankyou so much man..,

Gary! thankyou so much man.., ok that fixed the problem of bringing the content up.., but the div is still being pushed all the way down to the end of the sidebar and what i'd like for it to do is stop when the content is finished doing it thing Cool

Take a look at this:
http://www.phone7forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4
http://www.phone7forum.com/viewforum.php?f=2

The first post expands all the way down to the end of the sidebar and then the other 2 posts are listed under that.. and the 2nd link has the bg color expanding all the way down..Do you think this is another clear:both misused somewhere?

http://oneillwebs.com/ ~ yes, my personal website built purely with tables which needs to be updated heavily Wink

(before i knew anything!)

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 2 hours 54 min ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9057
Points: 3026

IE?

Are you talking about IE? I'd look first for why IE doesn't think there's any text here:

<div class="mybox_wrapper_inner">
 
 
                suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp suuuuupppppppp 
 
 
                </div>
I would look into those funky empty divs you're using to make rounded corners and drop shadows. Are they hiding the text or dropping down as block elements are wont to do, thus extending the parent's height? And, by "I would look into," I mean you. Strip that mess down to a simple box holding text. Then, when it's working, add stuff back one item at a time, until it breaks again; then you'll have the trouble maker.

cheers,

gary

Unplanned code results in a tangled wad of brain-cramping confusion.

There are enough html & css demos and tutorials to be interesting. Please visit.

oneeezy
oneeezy's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Beaumont, TX
Last seen: 2 years 14 weeks ago
Beaumont, TX
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2009-11-18
Posts: 98
Points: 126

thankyou, I'll do that and

thankyou, I'll do that and let you know the outcome Cool

http://oneillwebs.com/ ~ yes, my personal website built purely with tables which needs to be updated heavily Wink

(before i knew anything!)

oneeezy
oneeezy's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Beaumont, TX
Last seen: 2 years 14 weeks ago
Beaumont, TX
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2009-11-18
Posts: 98
Points: 126

Ok, I did what you said,

Ok, I did what you said, stripped it all down and got it working correctly in IE.

http://www.phone7forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4

Alright, So the content still stretches all the way down to the page., do you know why its still doing that?

http://oneillwebs.com/ ~ yes, my personal website built purely with tables which needs to be updated heavily Wink

(before i knew anything!)

gary.turner
gary.turner's picture
Offline
Moderator
Dallas
Last seen: 2 hours 54 min ago
Dallas
Timezone: GMT-5
Joined: 2004-06-25
Posts: 9057
Points: 3026

Which IE? Why isn't there any

Which IE? I don't see it, or maybe I don't get what you're talking about. Why isn't there any content in #mybox-wrapper in Firefox? Strip out that script and use plain text. Look at all the browsers.

cheers,

gary

Unplanned code results in a tangled wad of brain-cramping confusion.

There are enough html & css demos and tutorials to be interesting. Please visit.

oneeezy
oneeezy's picture
Offline
Enthusiast
Beaumont, TX
Last seen: 2 years 14 weeks ago
Beaumont, TX
Timezone: GMT-6
Joined: 2009-11-18
Posts: 98
Points: 126

I've been using IE8 to view

I've been using IE8 to view it in, and all is working well., does it look ok in your IE8? I just took a look through it on this website: http://ipinfo.info/netrenderer/index.php , just type in phone7forum.com and you can render it in IE6 and IE7 to see what it looks like. Is that what your seeing? Because your right.., IE6 and 7 does not look good at all!

Doing further research w3schools shows that 29.7% of people use Internet Explorer.

7.2% use IE7 and 4.8% use IE6 so that leaves 12% of the world not able to view the website correctly.

That being said since the website is being built for brand new microsoft technology "the windows phone 7" I'm not sure how many visitors I'll be missing out on, But, I still would like to know and fix the problem. Here's a print screen of what im seeing in IE8, notice both the page's content of how it goes all the way to the bottom and then starts out w/ the other content:

http://phone7forum.com/images/1st_page_wrong.jpg (is this what your seeing?)
http://phone7forum.com/images/2nd_page_wrong.jpg (is this what your seeing?)

and here's how they should look, or what I'm trying to do (compliments of photoshop):
http://phone7forum.com/images/1st_page_right.jpg
http://phone7forum.com/images/2nd_page_right.jpg

http://oneillwebs.com/ ~ yes, my personal website built purely with tables which needs to be updated heavily Wink

(before i knew anything!)